American  Institute of Architects
Fellowship, 1989
Secretary, Orange County Chapter, 1989
California Council Corporate Architect Honor Award, 2000
National Architecture Design Awards Juror, 2011
National Committee on the Environments (COTE) Awards Juror, 2013

Regional Design Awards Juror:
Central Valley Chapter (1990)
Orange County Chapter (1987-89)
San Joaquin Chapter (1991)
Santa Clara Valley Chapter (1991 and 1999)
East Bay Chapter (2003)

American  Planning Association

Association for Preservation Technologies International
Visiting Professional: Finland, Russia, Belarus and Ukraine, 1993

Association of University Architects

California Preservation Foundation
Education Committee, 2019-present

City of Charlottesville Planning Commission
Member, 2004-2014

City of Sausalito Historic Preservation Commission
Member, 2014 - present
Chair, 2018 - 2021
Vice Chair, 2021 - present


Frank Lloyd Wright’s Hanna House (National Historic Landmark)
Board of Governors

Secretary, 1991-2004

International Council  on Monuments and Sites, U.S. Committee
Visiting Professional in Historic Preservation: Cuba, 1998

National Trust for Historic Preservation

San Francisco Museum of Modern Art Design Forum
Advisory Board Member, 1999-2004

Society of College and University Planners
Campus Planning Advisory Board, 2019 - present
Contributing Editor, Planning for High Education, 1994-2019
International Design Awards Jury, 2005-2006

Stanford Design Conference
Board of Directors, 2002-2004

Taubman School of Architecture and Planning,  University of Michigan
Alumni Advisory Board, 2000- 2010
Chair, 2008-2009

Urban Design Review Board - City of San Jose
Visiting Architect Member, 2000-2002

US Green Building Council
National Member, 2016 - present
Founding Member, Charlottesville Chapter, 2007-2014